Follow

Hi there! I'm Noëlle, but you can call me Ellie. I'm a non-gender-conforming, non-HRT trans woman in my 40s who lives in mid-Michigan. I have a son in his 20s and I'm dating @sith_shenanigans . I've been a programmer all my life (currently focusing on Python), and I'm nominally a published writer but I've been in a creative slump for a while.

I have depression and anxiety, both of which are fairly well-treated. I also have an autoimmune disorder that's caused my kidneys to fail, so I undergo daily hemodialysis to help perform the functions my kidneys can't anymore. I call the dialyzer "the vampire", since it sucks my blood for ten hours a week. (It gives it back later, though.) The latter is the reason why I'm non-HRT; we have to figure out how to give me estrogen in a way that the dialyzer won't just suck it back out of me.

I'm an amateur musician and artist, and I like making toys and games in my free time. My first video game was Pong, my first real computer was a TI-99/4A (although my most formative computers were an IBM PC/XT and a Macintosh LC), and I use a flavor of Ubuntu Linux as my daily driver. My current video game obsessions are FFXIV and Vampire Survivors (which is weird, because I usually don't like bullet hell games).

Let me know if you have any questions!

Long post 

@noelle @sith_shenanigans I'm primarily a Python coder right now myself, but willing to code professionally in darn near any language for daily coin.

Long post 

@noelle If you like Python, I'd suggest you check out some of the other languages that run on the Java JVM, like Groovy especially. Why giant Java/J2EE projects insist on pure Java completely mystifies me, a lot of other languages co-exist perfectly well on the same platform.

Sign in to participate in the conversation
Hic quoque abibit.

Just Ellie (and perhaps some of her toys).